Home Feedback Contact us
Urgent notice must read
About ISG
  - Archive History
  - State Chapter
  - Constitution
  - Office Bearer
  - Related Societies
Trainee Section
Scientific Activity
Award & Prizes
Photo Gallery
Patient Section
International Societies
Forthcoming Events
GB Meetings
Abstract Submission
Member Registration
Standards in Gastroenterology Training : A Comprehensive Guide to Basics of Gastroenterology Training. See under International Societies section
International Research Opportunity for Young Investigators. See under Fellowship Section
The future belongs to learners; for the learned find themselves too well equipped to live in a world that has ceased to exist.
Let no one who comes to you ever leave without feeling better and happier. Mother Teresa
State Chapter

President : Dr Amrendra Kumar
Secretary : Dr Manoj Kumar (
drmanojk112003@yahoo.com )

December 18, 2005 :Annual conference of Bihar and Jharkhand chapter of ISG
CME was very much appreciated by all the delegates.
Topic Highlights :

  1. Cannulation trics in ERCP BY Dr Karamvir Chakravarti of Kolkota.
  2. Recent trends in management of hepatitis B by Dr A.K.Jain of Varanasi.
  3. Surgical management of Achalasia Cardia by Dr V.K.Shukla of Varanasi
  4. Radiological interventions in portal hypertention by Dr SS Baijal SGPGI., Lucknow


President:  Dr Minu Hariharan, TVM Medical College
Secretary: Dr Krishna Das, TVM Medical College

Two meetings are held in a year.

Mid term conference was held in Perinthalmanna Malappuram District Kerala Hosted by Moulana Hospitalwell attended (during September 2007 first week)

Annual conference will be held in Cochin hosted by Med Trust Hospital(Dr Sunil Mathai Org Secretary with Gut Club Cochin as Co Hosts) in February 2008

There around 66 members

Web site is under preparation and Calicut Medical College has taken resposibility for same



Maharashtra chapter (Founded in October 2002)

President :Dr Prakash Joshi

Vice President : Dr Prabha Sawant. Email id: prabhasawant@hotmail.com

Secretary: Dr Aabha Nagral Email id : aabhanagral@gmail.com

Number of members of ISG from Maharashtra : 154.

However the process of enrolment of members is on .

Total number of members of  ISG chapter of Maharashtra  are 43 life members & 4 associate


Annual conference of Maha ISG held at Mahabaleshwar in January 2007. It was attended by more than 125 delegates and organized by Dr Rajesh Dharamsi under the aegis of Deccan Society of Endoscopy and Maharashtra State Chapter of ISG.

Was of very high academic standard. There were panel discussions, interactive sessions and didactic lectures.

Next annual Maha ISG meet is to be held in Mumbai in February 2008 , focusing on Liver-Hematology—The Interphase. Organising Secretary : Dr Aabha Nagral.

Annual Meeting 2008-09 will be organized by Dr Vivekanand Kulkarni in Kolhapur in September 2008.

MP and Chattisgarh Chapter

Patron                                        Dr. K.D. Bhargav
President           2009—2010          Dr. Harish Sharma, Bhilai
President elect.   2010—2011         Dr. Subodh Varshney , Bhopal
Vice President     2009—2010         Dr. Sandeep Pandey, Raipur
Secretary          2008—2010           Dr. S.K.Issar, Bhilai
Joint Secretary    2009—2010         Dr. Shekhar, 
                                                  Dr. Prakash Bhagwat,Raipur
Treasurer                                    Dr. D. Singh  ,Bilaspur
Executive members                     Dr.  J. Yadav
                                                  Dr. P. Jain
                                                  Dr. Hariprasad Yadav,Indore 
                                                  Dr. Manish Jain,Bhopal 
                                                  Dr. Ashmeet Choudhary,Indore 
                                                  Dr. Vijan Rai,Bhopal  
                                                  Dr. R. Kanungo



ISG Orissa Chapter has been launched on May 29, 2007


President : Dr Mihir Mohapatra

Email id : mkmohapatra5@sify.com

Honorary Secretary : Dr SP Singh

Email id : sudhasingh@satyam.net.in

Vice President : Dr CR Panda

Email id ;

Treasurer : Dr Haribhakti Seba Das

Email id : hbsrho@yahoo.co.in


Secretariat : Dept. of Gastroenterology, SCB Medical College, Cuttack, 753007

No. of Members: 24


President (2007-08): Dr S Dharmalingam, email id : sdharma53@yahoo.co.in
Secretary (2007-09)  : Dr Mohammed Ali, email id : dr.mohd.ali@gmail.com
Treasurer (2007-09) : Dr Malathi Sathiasekaran, email id : mal.bwcs@gmail.com
Programmes for the year 2007:
15th April : Constipation
24th June : What a Physician should know about Surgery in GI ---Part I
22nd July : What a Physician should know about Surgery in GI ---Part II
18th August : Motility Disorders of GIT
1st September : IBD--For Patients (Lay session & for Practitioners) organised by Dr G Loganathan (Salem)
30th September : Rural CME at Virudhnagar , organised by Dr ASA Jegennathan (Madurai)
21st October : Stem Cell Therapy
Chronic Hepatitis Awareness programmes for GPs and internists in collaboration with IMA Branches conducted at 4 venues. 

Website link: http://www.isgtnc.org


Name of State: Indian Society Of Gastroenterology (WEST BENGAL)

President (2007-08) : Dr Karmabir Chakraborty, email id :karmabir@vsnl.com

Secretary(2007-08) : Dr Gopal Krishna Dhali, email id: gkdhali@yahoo.co.in

Number of ISG members and associate members: 132



President (2007-08): Dr. VA Saraswat e-mail ID: vivek@sgpgi.ac.in
Secretary(2007-08) :Dr. Uday C Ghoshal. e-mail ID: ghoshal@sgpgi.ac.in
Number of ISG members and associate members: 65
Activities (conferences) in the last year, dates, themes:

AnnualConference of Uttar Pradesh Chapter of Indian Society of Gastroenterology
2007 at Bareily on 5th-6th May 2007
Website address if any:
Future activities planned: Annual Conference of Uttar Pradesh Chapter of
Indian Society of Gastroenterology 2008 at Kanpur on 22-23 March 2008
Organizing Secretary: Dr. Arun Khanduri, Email:


MIDDLE EAST CHAPTER: The first International Chapter formed


President (2007-08): Dr. Srinat Dore. email ID: sdore@gmail.com

Secretary(2007-08) :Dr. Ajit Tharakan. e-mail ID: ajitharakan@gmail.com

Number of ISG members and associate members: 25
Activities (conferences) in the last year, dates, themes:

Inaugral Meeting held on January 18th 2009

Website address if any: www.isgme.org

Email: isgmemail@gmail.com

Future activities planned:

1.ISG Mid term Conference / STC ISG ME Annual Conference

2.Endoscopy Workshop Teleconference

Welcome to www.isg.org.in
Login to access your account.
Sign Up Forgot Password?
IJG Publication

Dr Govind K Makharia

Room no 3100, Third floor, Teaching Block
​Department of Gastroenterology and Human Nutrition
All India institute of Medical Sciences
Ansari Nagar, New Delhi-110029, India

Email: govindmakharia@gmail.com

The Organisers reserve the rights to make changes and adjustment to the information in this website
© Copyright ISG, Developed By: Toplogic Softlabs Pvt Ltd.